Home      Contact
  German English History Bibliography  

Area A/V

by Irmgard Hein
  Area A/V is located at the north-eastern edge of the mound of Tell el–Dabca, approx. 500 m northeast of area A/I and A/II.

There is evidence of former archaeological investigations in this area. Small pits are widespread throughout the area, the average size of one being 1.5–2.0 ms x 0.7 ms, suggesting the work of a single digger. Such specific pits are likeliest to be the relics of E. Naville’s investigations from 1885, being labelled "Naville-pits" as a result. Naville (1887, 21) described the on-the-ground activities as follows: "I worked for more than a month with about a hundred labourers in the area of the enclosure and especially towards the western side, and went down as far as the water allowed."

In 1987 a geological survey of the geomorphologic conditions, using methods of investigating soil out of drill cores, was conducted by J. Dorner (Dorner 1989). This went to prove that area A/V was located at the southern fringe of a turtle back of sand (gezira). As has been recently demonstrable in the geomagnetic survey (see Forstner-Müller and others, 2004), (>>geomagnetic plan/survey).

A/V is part of a larger settlement area which had been separated from the main Tell by a channel of water. The features of the sherdage from the Dorner survey anticipate settlement remains from the Late SIP period, in particular ones tying in with Str. D/3 and D/2 (>>strata).

Due to the landlord’s intended agricultural use of the area, the EAS suggested an investigation of the plot which went on to be conducted by C. Hölzl, then followed up by I. Hein under the auspices of M. Bietak and J. Dorner. Mohammed Taher and Ibrahim Soliman attended as representatives from the Egyptian Antiquities Authorities. An area of 1800 m2 in 18 squares by 9.0 x 9.0 ms was excavated down to two to three levels, all of them containing material from the Late Hyksos Period. Only one square was tested on down to level 5, but work had to stop because of rising groundwater. The material has been published by I. Hein and P. Jánosi in the volume Tell el-Dabca XI.
Deep-level probes of square p/19 showed up layers tying in with strata E/1 (shortly after inception of the Hyksos Period) as far as Str. D/2 (final phase of the Hyksos Period) on upper levels (>>chronology strata). Later material was also found either in pits cutting into these layers - albeit without adjacent horizon - or at several spots just below the surface, such as at Locus 145, bearing witness to activities from later periods (str. post D/2, str. C, str. B). No buildings from these late phases were traceable.

This material is proof that settlement activities started relatively late in this eastern part of the Auaris/ Tell el–Dabca town district, as opposed to areas A/II, A/IV, F/I or cEzbet Rushdi where the earliest traces go back to the 12th Dynasty.
  The earliest levels from area A/V
In one square, A/V-p/19, the layers were explored as deeply as possible, down to a depth of 3.60 m/NN. Because of the high water table, it was not possible to delve further.
The lowest level contained settlement relics from the early Hyksos Period tying in with str. E/1- E/2 (>>chronology strata).
It was from this phase that we found a house spanning several building layers. Test drills NW of the square showed, going down another 30 cms, the presence of settlements starting to be built on the gezira. The initiation of settlement activity can be linked to population growth at the beginning of the Hyksos Period (15th Dynasty, approx. 1,620 B.C.). The apparently rapid increase in population would have led to a shortage of space in the old town, as can be interpreted from the situation in area A/II. The result was expansion into inhabited zones and the adjacent Gezira hill in the East.
  The Hyksos Period (str. E/1-D/2)
The settlement remains show houses loosely scattered around the site, including only a few tombs within the area inhabited (pic.1 - map of area A/V). The dwelling units show courtyards as well as farming utensils and equipment, such as vessel stands, kilns, silos etc. (pic.2).
pic. 1   pic. 2

Tombs in the area
All the tombs have been looted. We found different kinds of burials - single burials with offering deposits, being common during the late Hyksos Period (pic. 3, pic. 4, pic.5, pic.6 and pic.7). A large tomb construction with a tomb chamber was also discovered (pic. 8, pic. 9 and pic. 10).

This tomb, containing multiple burials, was built parallel to the street and to the houses around. The rooms added south and west of the area may possibly be another part of the tomb structure. The burials had been constantly plundered, leaving disjointed skeletal remains. The chamber was paved with mud bricks overlaid by a thin rubble layer which acted as the burial ground.

pic. 3   pic. 4   pic.5   pic. 6   pic. 7
pic. 8   pic. 9   pic.10
  Children were usually buried in large pottery containers, such as amphorae (pic. 11), within the housing confines, whilst a group of multiple child burials dotted around a chamber tomb was detected on square A/V-p/19 (pic. 12 und pic. 13).  
pic. 11   pic. 12   pic. 13
The pottery from area A/V offers a rich collection of household and daily life pottery, in particular from the end of the Hyksos Period. Some scarabs also date to this period (pic. 14 and pic. 15).
pic. 14  pic. 15
  A destruction level at the end of the occupation phase, widely assumed to coincide with the end of the Hyksos Period, failed to be detected. We can therefore assume that the structures remained intact into the 18th Dynasty. Objects datable from the early 18th Dynasty were found in pits and disturbed areas, such as a bulky storage jar (Zir) which presumably dates to the early 18th Dynasty (pic. 16).  
pic. 16
  Ramesside Period (str. B)
A complete change in the settlement structures was traceable from the end of the 18th Dynasty/early Ramesside Period onwards when small pits started being regularly laid out in rows, over the site, probably being the remnants of a garden or a vineyard on that very spot (pic. 17 - garden leve and pic. 18).
pic. 17   pic. 18
Bietak, M.
1991 Tell el-Dabca V, 19–26.
Dorner, J.
1989 Grabungsbericht Tell Tell el-Dabca, Ägypten, ÖJh, 4
1994 Bericht über die Geländesondagen, Ä&L 4, 11–15.
1999 Bericht über die Geländesondagen, Ä&L 9, 82.
Hein, I.
1992 Two Excavation Areas from Tell el-Dabca, in: Sesto Congresso Internazionale di Egittologia, Atti, Vol. 1, Turin, 1992, 249 – 253.
Hein, I. and Jánosi, P.
2004 Tell el-Dabca XI. Areal A/V, Siedlungsrelikte der Späten Hyksoszeit,. Verlag Österr. Akademie der Wissenschaften, UZK XXI, Wien 2004. Mit Beiträgen von: K. Großschmidt, K. Kopetzky, L. Maguire, C. Mlinar, G. Philip, U. Thanheiser, A. Tillmann.
Jánosi, P.
1992 Hausanlagen der späten Hyksoszeit und der 18. Dynastie in Tell el-Dabca und cEzbet Helmi. In: Haus und Palast im Alten Ägypten. Intenationales Symposium 8.-11. April 1992 in Kairo. ÖAW. Wien. 85-92.
Maguire, L. C.
1995 Tell el-Dabca, The Cypriot Connection, in: Egypt, the Aegean and the Levant, London, BMP, 54 – 65
Naville, E.
1887 The Shrine of Saft el Henneh and the Land of Goshen. EEF Mem. 5. London.

Home      Kontakt
  Deutsch English Geschichte Bibliographie              
 
 

Areal A/V

von Irmgard Hein
 
 
  Das Grabungsareal A/V liegt nordöstlich vom heute noch anstehenden Rest des ehemaligen Stadthügels von Auaris/Tell el–Dabca, knapp 500 m nordöstlich von den Grabungsarealen A/I und A/II.

Frühere archäologische Grabungen im Gelände können aufgrund von Gruben vermutet werden, deren spezifische Gestalt von etwa 1.5–2.0 m Länge und einer Breite von ca. 70 cm etwa von der Arbeitsleistung einer einzelnen Person herrühren. Derartige tiefgreifende Gruben sind in unregelmäßigen Abständen über das gesamte Grabungsgebiet von Tell el–Dabca verteilt, und gehen mit Sicherheit auf die Geländeuntersuchungen von E. NAVILLE 1885 zurück, weshalb derartige Gruben auch als "Naville–Gruben" bezeichnet sind. Naville (1887, 21) beschreibt die Aktivitäten folgendermaßen "I worked for more than a month with about a hundred labourers in the area of the enclosure and especially towards the western side, and went down as far as the water allowed."

Bereits vor 1987 wurden von J. Dorner in einem Survey mehrere Sondagen mittels Bohrkernen zur Erfassung der geologischen Geländesituation durchgeführt (Dorner 1989). Nach diesen Ergebnissen, liegt Areal A/V am Südrand einer alten Sandinsel. Wie aus dem jüngsten geomagnetischen Survey hervorgeht (Forstner-Müller et alii, 2004), zeigt es einen Ausschnitt eines größeren Siedlungsgebietes, das im S durch einen Wasserarm vom Haupttell getrennt war (>>Link geomagnetischer Plan).
Die bei den Probebohrungen erfaßten Scherben hatten gezeigt, daß an dieser Stelle Siedlungsreste aus der späten Hyksoszeit, insbesondere Str. D/3- D/2 (>>Chronologie Straten) zu erwarten waren.
Da die Absicht bestand das Terrain landwirtschaftlich zu nutzen, wurde auf Vorschlag der ägyptischen Antikenverwaltung von Herbst 1987 - Herbst 1988 eine Notgrabung unter der Direktion von M. Bietak und J. Dorner durch I. Hein und C. Hölzl durchgeführt. Als Vertreter der Ägyptischen Antikenverwaltung waren Mohammed Taher und Ibrahim Soliman tätig. Insgesamt wurde ein Areal von ca. 1800 m2 in 18 Planquadraten von jeweils 9.0 x 9.0 m in meist zwei bis drei Bauschichten in den oberen Lagen erfasst, die Material aus der späten Hyksoszeit enthielten. Der horizontale Befund ist im Band Tell el Dabca XI, von I. Hein und P. JŠnosi (2004) publiziert.
 
 
  Stratigraphie
Die Testgrabung in Planquadrat p/19 hat gezeigt, daß das Keramikmaterial von Schichten des Str. E/1 (kurz nach dem Beginn der Hyksoszeit) bis zu Str. D/2 (Ende der Hyksoszeit) in der obersten Bebauungsphase reicht (>>Chronologie Straten). Späteres Material war noch in Gruben, ohne zugehöriger Bauschicht, respektive in Ansammlungen knapp unter dem rezenten Gehhorizont zu finden, wie etwa Locus 145, der Aktivitäten aus späterer Zeit (Post D/2, Str. C, Str B) in diesem Gelände, bezeugt. Intakte Baustrukturen aus dieser Zeit waren jedoch nicht mehr erhalten.

Der gesamte Befund läßt erkennen, daß die Besiedlung in diesem östlichen Teil des Großraumes von Auaris/Tell el–Dabca erst relativ spät einsetzte (im Gegensatz zu den Arealen A/II, A/IV, F/I oder cEzbet Rushdi, wo die frühesten Spuren bis in die 12. Dynastie zurückreichen.
 
 
  Die ältesten Siedlungsschichten in A/V
In einem Planquadrat, A/V-p/19 wurde eine Tiefgrabung durchgeführt, und das Terrain bis auf eine Höhe von 3.60 m/NN abgesenkt; wegen des anstehenden Grundwasserspiegels war keine tiefere Grabung möglich. Die tiefstliegende erfasste Schicht enthielt Siedlungsreste aus der beginnenden Hyksoszeit, die Str. abs. E/1–E/2 (>>Chronologie Straten) zuzuweisen sind. Aus dieser Zeit liegen Reste eines Hauses in mehreren Bauphasen vor.

Tiefer führende Probebohrungen im NW dieses Quadranten zeigten, daß darunter nur mehr etwa 0.3 m hohe Siedlungsschichten vorliegen, die bereits auf der Gezira, das sind anstehende Sandrücken im Gelände, aufsitzen. Diese Lagen konnten jedoch wegen des aufsteigenden Grundwassers nicht mehr erfaßt werden. Der Beginn der Besiedlung im Areal A/V dürfte mit der Bevölkerungszunahme zu Beginn der Hyksoszeit (15. Dynastie, etwa um 1620 v. Chr.) zusammenhängen. Die offenbar stark ansteigende Einwohnerzahl führte vermutlich zu Raumnot im älteren Stadtgebiet, wie auch der archäologische Befund des Areal A/II zu erkennen gibt, und zur logischen Expansion des Siedlungsraumes, die sich auf den benachbarten Gezirahügel im Osten erstreckte.
 
 
  Die Hyksoszeit (Str. E/1-D/2)
Hausrelikte zeigen eine lockere Verbauung des Geländes, mit wenigen Gräbern im Siedlungsbereich. Die freigelegten Hausgrundrisse (Abb.1 - Gesamtplan Areal A/V) mit Befunden lose verteilter wirtschaftlicher Einrichtungen, wie Zirstand, Öfen, Getreidespeicher (Abb.2 - Silo) o.ä. lassen auf eine Siedlung landwirtschaftlichen Charakters schließen.
 
 
 
Abb. 1   Abb. 2
 
 
  Gräber im Areal
Alle Gräber waren beraubt. Es gibt sowohl Einzelgräber mit Opfergruben, wie sie in der späten Hyksoszeit üblich sind (Abb. 3, Abb. 4, Abb.5, Abb.6 und Abb.7), aber auch ein spätes Kammergrab, mit Relikten einer Mehrfachbestattung wurde freigelegt (Abb. 8, Abb. 9 und Abb. 10).
 
 
 
       
Abb. 3   Abb. 4   Abb.5   Abb. 6   Abb. 7
 
 
 
   
Abb. 8   Abb. 9   Abb.10
 
 
  Die Leichen lagen hier auf einer Kieselschicht. Kinderbestattungen in Gefäßen (Amphoren) waren durchwegs im Hausbereich üblich (Abb. 11), aber auch ein Grabensemble mit Gruppierung um ein Erwachsenengrab liegt aus der Tiefgrabung vor (Abb. 12 und Abb. 13).  
 
 
   
Abb. 11   Abb. 12   Abb. 13
 
 
  Funde
Das Keramik von A/V bietet eine wertvolle Sammlung von Siedlungsmaterial, insbesondere aus dem Str. D/2, also der letzten Phase der Hyksoszeit. Einige wenige Skarabäen (Abb. 14 und Abb. 15) lassen sich ebenfalls gut in die Hyksoszeit datieren.
 
 
 
 
Abb. 14   Abb. 15
 
 
  Ein gewaltsames Ende der Besiedlung, wie es zu Ende der Hyksosherrschaft vermutet werden könnte, war nicht festzustellen. Da jegliche Zerstörungsschichten fehlen, läßt sich vermuten, daß die Häuser auch bis in die 18. Dynastie hinein intakt waren. Datierende Artefakte aus dem Zeitraum der frühen 18. Dynastie liegen immerhin aus Störungen und Gruben vor, wie z.B. ein Vorratsgefäß, Zir, der vermutlich bereits in die frühe 18. Dynastie gehört (Abb. 16).  
 
 
Abb. 16
 
 
  Ramessidenzeit - Str. B
Eine völlige Änderung des Bebauungsplanes setzte mit Ende der späten 18. Dynastie bzw. der Ramessidenzeit ein, aus dieser Zeit stammen regelmäßig angelegte Baum und Strauchgruben, die in den oberen Lagen des Geländes verteilt sind (Stratum B) (Abb. 17 - Reste eines Gartens und Abb. 18).
 
 
 
 
Abb. 17   Abb. 18
 
 
 
Bibliographie:
 
 
Hein, I.
1992 Two Excavation Areas from Tell el-Dabca, in: Sesto Congresso Internazionale di Egittologia, Atti, Vol. 1, Turin, 1992, 249 – 253.
Hein, I. und Jánosi, P.
2004 Tell el-Dabca XI. Areal A/V, Siedlungsrelikte der Späten Hyksoszeit,. Verlag Österr. Akademie der Wissenschaften, UZK XXI, Wien 2004. Mit Beiträgen von: K. Großschmidt, K. Kopetzky, L. Maguire, C. Mlinar, G. Philip, U. Thanheiser, A. Tillmann.
Literatur:
Bietak, M.
1991 Tell el-Dabca V, 19–26.
Dorner, J.
1989 Grabungsbericht Tell Tell el-Dabca, Ägypten, ÖJh, 4
1994 Bericht über die Geländesondagen, Ä&L 4, 11–15.
1999 Bericht über die Geländesondagen, Ä&L 9, 82.
Jánosi, P.
1992 Hausanlagen der späten Hyksoszeit und der 18. Dynastie in Tell el-Dabca und cEzbet Helmi. In: Haus und Palast im Alten Ägypten. Intenationales Symposium 8.-11. April 1992 in Kairo. ÖAW. Wien. 85-92.
Maguire, L. C.
1995 Tell el-Dabca, The Cypriot Connection, in: Egypt, the Aegean and the Levant, London, BMP, 54 – 65
Naville, E.
1887 The Shrine of Saft el Henneh and the Land of Goshen. EEF Mem. 5. London.